Halal Bourse

Home › Crypto › OKB

Is OKB (OKB) halal?

Questionable

No condition fails, but 2 points remain to be verified or fall under a tolerated case.

Verdict calculated by Halal Bourse's published rules from an investigation of primary sources (project documentation, registers, decisions), conducted on 10/07/2026 and not reviewed by a human.

Open the evidence file

The asset

Native currency of X Layer (an Ethereum layer 2 network built by OKX) and token of the OKX exchange platform; the ERC-20 version on Ethereum, scanned here, is being retired Issuer: OKX; the entity Aux Cayes Fintech Co. Ltd (Seychelles) pleaded guilty in the United States in 2025; OKX Europe Limited (Malta) serves the European Economic Area.

OKB serves as X Layer's gas and governance token; its supply has been fixed at 21 million since the burn of 65,256,712 OKB (August 2025). ERC-20 contract confirmed by Blockscout and Etherscan: 0x75231F58b43240C9718Dd58B4967c5114342a86c (remaining supply on Ethereum: about 429,065 OKB).

Why this verdict

  1. Permissible purpose : met. OKB is the gas and governance token of X Layer, an EVM-compatible network; it also serves as a security deposit (staking) to deploy markets, including perpetual derivatives markets, on Exchange OS (2026 roadmap): use documented by the issuer.
    • « OKB is X Layer’s native gas token. It’s the key to the blockchain’s operation and governance, the total OKB supply is 21 million. » OKX (page OKB) (2026-10-07)
    • « Gas token : OKB (fixed supply at 21M post-burns/upgrades; L1 OKB phased out) » OKX (documentation X Layer) (2026-10-07)
  2. No riba : met. The documentation provides no return for simple holding: the contract has lost its mint and burn functions and the supply is fixed; OKX's savings products on OKB were not read (gaps).
  3. No gambling : met. A spot purchase is of a token recorded on a blockchain and transferable (ERC-20 on Ethereum, native token on X Layer); it is not a contract on a price difference.
  4. No excessive gharar : to be verified or tolerated case. The fixed supply of 21 million is announced by the issuer alone (X Layer not read); X Layer's sequencer is designated “Trusted” in the documentation (operator not specified), and the ERC-20 contract remains modifiable by the owner of its proxy, a plain unlabeled address (direct on-chain read).
  5. Real ownership : met. OKB is withdrawn from OKX to X Layer, where it is the native token of a personal wallet; withdrawals to Ethereum have no longer been supported by OKX since August 2025, but the ERC-20 remains transferable between addresses.
  6. No fraud or manipulation : to be verified or tolerated case. OKX (Aux Cayes Fintech) pleaded guilty on February 24, 2025 to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business in the United States and agreed to more than $504 million in penalties; Malta's FIAU fined Okcoin Europe €1.1 million (April 2025): grounds unrelated to the sale of OKB (no deception of OKB buyers read); the scan finds two GoPlus flags not corroborated by the code (autres_constats).
  7. Réseau ouvert et généraliste : met. un outil neutre

Tolerance case

T1. OKB is the native currency of X Layer, an EVM network where anyone can deploy a contract; T1 is applied to native OKB, with one limit: the sequencer is designated “Trusted” (operator not specified). Since August 2025, OKX's announcement no longer mentions a buyback tied to the platform's revenue (supply fixed, mint and burn removed). OKX does not publish its revenue breakdown: the share from derivatives, margin and lending is unknown and is not estimated (T2 not quantifiable).

Contract security scan

GoPlus security scan of the OKB contract on Ethereum: 20,053 holders; top ten wallets excluding exchanges and contracts 62.4%; code published; token on GoPlus's trust list. Signals found: The contract can freeze addresses (blacklist, is_blacklisted). Contract modifiable through a proxy: the code can change after the fact (is_proxy). Top ten wallets excluding exchanges and contracts: 62.4% of the supply. Reading: the verified code contains no blacklist (flag not corroborated); the proxy is real (owner: plain address); the concentration concerns an ERC-20 float reduced to 2% of the supply, largely on OKX or unlabeled addresses. Identified, licensed issuer: a priori no rug pull signal within the meaning of A.8 (concentration alone = information); for Halal Bourse to decide.

Opinions found during the research

Opinions reported as read, named for what they are; they do not enter into the calculation of the verdict.

What could not be verified

Sources read

Other cryptos analyzed

General information: neither investment advice nor a fatwa. Verdict calculated by published rules, from financial statements read automatically and not reviewed by a human. Read the methodology